There are four main paths to attain this Union which bring health, happiness and peace of mind: Karma Yoga, Bhakti Yoga, Raja Yoga (Hatha Yoga) and Jnana Yoga. Each path is suited to a different temperament or approach to life. All the paths lead ultimately to the same goal. The lessons of each path need to be integrated if true wisdom is to be attained. Swami Sivananda’s approach is the synthesis of all these paths in daily life.

Read More

What is classical yoga?

Proper Exercise (Asanas)
The asanas not only produce physical benefits, but are also mental exercises in concentration and meditation, promoting optimum good health.

Proper Breathing (Pranayama)
Through specific breathing techniques this energy is released for physical and mental rejuvenation.

Proper Relaxation (Savasan)
This is a vital part of keeping the body and mind healthy. Yoga teaches three levels of relaxation – physical, mental and spiritual.

Proper Diet (Vegetarian)
Eating with awareness. A yogi takes food which has the most positive effect on the body and mind and the least negative effect on the environment.

Positive Thinking and Meditation (Vedanta and Dhyana)
Relieves stress and replenishes energy. Meditation is well-known to improve concentration and to bring peace of mind and spiritual strength. Meditation is beneficial for everyone, especially those with a hectic, stressful life.

Read More